This section will feature articles about yoga. All you need to know about yoga goes here. You can find out answers to questions like What is the true meaning of yoga?”, “Does practicing yoga count as exercise?”, “What do I need to start practicing yoga?”, and more.

Here, you’ll also understand why yoga and spirituality often go hand in hand.

Yoga has often been linked to spirituality. And those who commit to a regular yoga practice are spiritual people. That’s not always the case, though.

While most individuals practice yoga for its physical and mental advantages, the practice can also be beneficial in other ways. Many of the yoga poses are spiritually based — they have deeper goals than simply stretching, building strength, improving mobility, and increasing muscle power.

For one, it allows a person to work on their mindfulness approach, mental toughness against physical limitations, and mental health. When caught up in a yoga person, a yogi can’t help but be mindful. It’s a byproduct of practicing yoga. 

If they spend time doing yoga every day, they’re also training their minds to be mindful every day. This helps them form a deep connection with the universe. And by deepening their connection between their mind, body, and spirit, this science moves past physical aspects.

Ashtanga yoga or hatha yoga: Which is the best yoga practice for you?

The best yoga practice for you is one that helps you find inner peace and nourishes your overall well-being. Yoga’s spiritual side stresses the need and development of a clear mind. Notably, whether it’s ashtanga yoga or hatha yoga, that’s up to you.

These two types of yoga are mentioned because they’re among the common types of yoga that new yoga practitioners would want to know more about.

Here’s a closer discussion on this topic:


Hatha yoga is the type of yoga that most people think of whenever the word yoga comes up. The word hatha is a Sanskrit word that means “power.” And the breathing practices for this yoga style can be found in Buddhist and Hindu scriptures dating back to the 1st century.

Classical hatha yoga was created in the 15th century and featured instructions on how to properly set up yoga. Soon, it was in front of millions of families across America by the 1950s.

If you’re a beginner, engaging in hatha yoga is worth considering. And a great thing about it is, you can sign up for hatha yoga classes easily. Usually, you can take up this type of yoga where.


Meanwhile, Ashtanga is only good for you if you consider yourself one of the more advanced yogis. The name “Ashtanga” means “eight limbs” in Sanskrit, India’s ancient language. As a result, this type of yoga refers to the practice of these limbs. The goal? Help you achieve yoga’s benefits.

The eight limbs are:

  1. Yamas or behavioral observances
  2. Niyamas or behavioral restraints
  3. Pranayama or the practice of effective deep breathing techniques to control your life force energy
  4. Dharana or concentration
  5. Asana or the practice of postures
  6. Samadhi or transcendence
  7. Dhyana or meditation
  8. Pratyahara or the withdrawal of sensations

What is Breathing Nostril Alternating?

What is Breathing Nostril Alternating?

3 years ago9 min read

Did you know that you breathe through one nostril at…