Christianity and Chakra Healing


Last Updated on July 11, 2022

Christianity and the word chakra are two things that many people would never associate with one another. However, the connection between the two is not as farfetched as it may seem.

The concept of Christianity comes from the teachings of Jesus Christ who performed healings on individuals, their illnesses, and even cure someone from demonic possession. This type of healing power comes from Christ’s power over sickness and demons, but what does that have to do with chakra?

This blog post will examine the seeming juxtaposition of Christianity and chakras. In much the same way that Christianity teaches us about the state of consciousness, so does chakra healing teaches us about our seven energy centers.

Christian Beliefs and the Chakra System

Christians know that God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit bestow physical vitality and the life force to endure an abundant and robust life on Christ’s followers.

God created life energies to heal all living things from plants, trees, sprouts, animals, and human beings on Earth – everything has its own energy center.

On the other hand, the chakra system has been used by Hinduism for centuries but was later picked up by other religions. Since Hinduism is arguably the oldest religion still in existence, it would make sense for the two to overlap in some ways.

What is energy?

Learning about the subtle body energies is the first step in understanding how chakra works. All people are energy beings considering that everyone contains energy channels where the life force moves.

See also
What is a Chakra Bracelet and How Does it Work?

It is believed that the subtle body’s vital energy moves beyond the physical body like rivers and streams and where these energies collide is where the chakras exist.

What are chakras?

Chakra is a word that comes from the Sanskrit word and roughly translates to “spinning wheel”. This term has been used for centuries to describe the centers of energy in the human body, and they are often associated with traditional Eastern healing practices like acupuncture and yoga.

The chakra system is an ancient Indian model of human consciousness, including the physical body. It classifies humans into different levels of wellness and development, depending on the energy centers.

The idea has caught on among Christians who are eager to get in touch with their spirituality by using this Eastern technique. They believe that this will help them overcome challenges like stress, anxiety, and depression.

Energy Centers of the Physical Body

Chakra healing is a spiritual practice that originated in India and is based on the idea that the body is made up of seven different points, or energy centers.

The goal of chakra healing is to align these energy centers and bring them into balance with one another using the seven major chakras in the body.

Root chakra (Muladhara)

This chakra is located at the base of the spine. It is known for:

  • base or foundation of life
  • make you grounded and withstand any challenges
  • center of emotional and physical health
  • responsible for the sense of security and stability

Sacral chakra (Svadhisthana)

Located just below the belly button, Svadhisthana is responsible for:

  • sexual and creative energy
  • how you relate to your own and others’ emotions
  • fluidity and the ability to accept change

Solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

Manipura is located at the stomach area and is responsible for:

  • confidence and self-esteem
  • help you feel in control of your life
  • governs personal power, will, and autonomy
See also
How to Balance Your Chakras with Meditation: 9 Ways

Heart chakra (Anahata)

Found in the center of your chest and near the heart, Anahata is a powerful chakra and known for:

  • ability to love and show compassion to others

Throat chakra (Vishuddha)

Located near the throat, Vishuddha is responsible for:

  • self-expression
  • ability to effectively communicate verbally

Third eye chakra (Ajna)

Ajna is located just between your eyes and has been linked for:

  • strong instinct and intuition
  • imagination
  • see things clearly and in a healthy perspective

Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

The last chakra is called Sahasrara and is the gateway towards spiritual enlightenment and spiritual awareness. Located at the top of the head, this chakra is known to represent:

  • the spiritual connection to self, others, and the universe
  • contributes to life purpose
  • controls your connection to the spirit

Are Christians allowed to practice chakra-based meditation?

As spiritual beings, people are drawn to search for a way to connect with the higher being.

Yoga has been seen as a spiritual practice for thousands of years, but is it right for Christians? Yoga poses, or asanas, are often based on the poses of Hindu gods and this is where many Christians have an issue with practicing yoga.

Christians believe that being able to know the will of God is one of the ultimate goals in life. Many also believe that God has a plan for them to follow and that this plan is not always revealed to them.

It is also typically said that those who follow Christianity can not practice chakra-based mediation because meditation may not align with their values, beliefs, or morals. Instead, they are encouraged to meditate on scripture over focusing on their energy centers.

Although it makes sense that other believers are skeptical about the philosophies and practices of Eastern religions, there are also those who don’t see any wrong with it.

Believing in chakra does not equate to faith. It is just simply finding the wisdom to achieve self-fulfillment and help others.

See also
7-Day Chakra Cleanse: Foods for Balancing Your Energy Centers


The chakra system, which has been adopted from the Hindu religion, is a fantastic way for Westerners to learn about their metaphysical side that they may have previously been hesitant to explore.

Those who practice chakra healing use it as a tool to heal themselves from illnesses that can be brought on by physical or emotional trauma.

For those who believe in the power of Christ and want to grow spiritually, chakra healing is a great way to demystify and awaken your spirituality. Chakra healing has been around for thousands of years and has been practiced by people of all religions.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 5

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?