This section will talk about everything you need to know about chakra — your energy centers, lower and upper chakras, seven main chakras, and more. With the growing popularity of yoga and a variety of New Age ideologies, chakras and their roles entered the picture. 

They are an ancient, sophisticated energy system that embodies spiritual wisdom throughout centuries. From the 1500s to today, there’s an ocean of lessons to learn from them.

Chakras, physical health, mental health, and emotional health

Chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit. They’re spinning disks with distinct properties, and they’re physically located in specific areas of the body. And spiritual experts recommend keeping chakras open and aligned. That’s because they correspond to practically everything we do.

Along your spine, there are seven major chakras. They begin at the base of every person’s spine and reach all the way to the top of your head. And since your chakras relate to your overall well-being, they can provide the remedy to your illnesses.

How to know if chakras are blocked

If a chakra is blocked or when a chakra’s energy is low, it’s difficult to express the attributes linked with that chakra. You feel as if you can’t do anything you want. While you may have things mapped out in your head, those plans remain stuck.

On the flip side, there’s also a problem when a chakra’s energy is too high. Notably, when a chakra is overactive, the attributes become a dominant force in a person’s life. This can have both physical and psychological consequences.

You’ll know if your chakras or particular chakras are blocked if your human body is experiencing:

  • Insecurity with basic needs = blocked root chakra
  • Issues with self-worth, pleasure, and sexual organs = blocked sacral chakra
  • Low self-esteem and self-confidence = blocked solar plexus chakra
  • Trouble speaking = blocked throat chakra

How to unblock a chakra or restore/maintain balance?

Put an end to living life with toxic habits like eating too much junk food, sleeping late, and stressing yourself. And in addition to stopping those negative habits, be proactive. Notably, proactively create alignment through regular practices of:

  • Yoga poses – Specific yoga poses can unblock specific chakras in the chakra system. Examples are the goddess pose for unblocking the heart chakra and the fish pose to unblock the throat chakra.
  • Breathing exercises – Any breathing exercise that promotes regulated energy flow is good.
  • Meditation – Meditative exercises and daily mindfulness can help you achieve mental clarity.

Questions about the chakra system

We’ll provide you with answers to questions like:

Overactive Root Chakra Meaning, Signs, and Balancing

Overactive Root Chakra: Meaning, Signs, and Balancing

2 years ago10 min read

Do you always feel out of control? It’s as if…

What Does Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol Mean and How to Use It

What Does Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol Mean and How to Use It

2 years ago6 min read

Planning on unleashing the full power of the third chakra…

How to Activate the Chakras in 3 Easy Steps

How to Activate the Chakras in 3 Easy Steps

2 years ago9 min read

Wonder why there are people who radiate positive vibes naturally?…

What Is Fire Chakra and How to Activate Manipura Chakra

What Is Fire Chakra and How to Activate Manipura Chakra?

2 years ago7 min read

Let’s talk about the fire chakra a.k.a. manipura chakra. It’s…

How to Unblock Chakras With Reiki: 10 Ways

How to Unblock Chakras With Reiki: 10 Ways

2 years ago6 min read

Sad, agitated, and angry? Do you feel anxious and can’t…

Chakra for beginners

Chakra for Beginners: Points, Types, Unblocking, and More!

2 years ago16 min read

Interested in learning about chakras but don’t know where to…