What is a Chakra Massage and Who Needs It the Most?


Last Updated on December 5, 2022

The belief in chakras is an old-age part of the Ayurvedic system which emerged in India during the ancient times. In Ayurvedic tradition, people believe that there are seven spinning wheels of energy in our body. We know these energy centers as chakras that govern our physical, psychological, and spiritual selves.

The chakras are located in a channel known as sushumna nadi, which encompasses one’s spine up to the crown head. The divine life force energy flows through these chakras that people call as kundalini.

The upward flow of kundalini from the root chakra up to the crown chakra means that the energy connects one’s physical level of being to the larger universe. The kundalini energy also flows from the crown chakra going down to the root chakra, connecting our consciousness and ideas and to manifest them in the physical world.

In this article you will gain insights on:

  • the chakras and the parts of the body that they rule
  • which kind of massage therapy to give to a specific energy center

Chakra balancing massage

What is a chakra massage? It is a method of healing your energy centers as they can usually fall out of balance due to external and internal pressures and influences. Some people integrate the method of chakra healing in a massage treatment, which makes people feel connected to their mind, body, and soul.

Massaging the root chakra

This energy center serves as our connection to the earth as people associate it with this element. It rules one’s sense of stability, security and self-preservation. Like earth, the root chakra should be a sturdy, stable, and solid foundation.

See also
What Do The 7 Chakras Mean: Everything You Need To Know

This chakra is at the base of the spine. A therapist can enhance the energy flow in this energy point by massaging the lower back, legs and feet.

Massaging the sacral chakra

The sacral chakra drives one’s emotions, and his or her sexuality and creativity. People associate this energy center with water because of its fluidity, letting the creative energies flow within the body. We know this as the pleasure chakra and drives a person to enjoy life, wellness, and abundance.

This energy point is in the lower abdominal region, just below the navel and above the pubic bone. You can unblock this energy center by massaging stiff areas in the hips, allowing the energy to flow in the lower part of one’s abdomen.

Massaging the solar plexus chakra

The solar plexus chakra is the warrior chakra as it rules one’s personal power and self-confidence. We associate it with the element of fire as they share the same characteristics: mobility and power.

It covers the stomach and upper abdominal region of one’s body. Massage the area around the navel and abdomen, with a circular motion following a clockwise direction. Apart from the spiritual aspect, massaging this part of the body can help with better organ function.

Massaging the heart chakra

Massaging the heart chakra

The energy center for love and compassion is the heart chakra. We associate it with the air element, and just like air, we can’t see it, but we feel its presence. You can keep the balance of this energy center by massaging the upper back, upper arm, and shoulder joint.

Massaging the throat chakra

This chakra is responsible for one’s communication, which comes in all forms and aspects.The throat chakra helps one to speak the truth and express his or her thoughts. Massage the muscles surrounding the neck and towards the base of the head to unblock and balance this energy center.

See also
Which Chakra Deals With Shame?

Massaging the third-eye chakra

The chakra for wisdom and intuition, the third-eye energy center is at your forehead, in between your eyebrows. We associate this chakra with the human mind which rules one’s imagination and perception. To open and balance your third-eye chakra, massage the muscles in the temples, nasal sinuses, and jaw.

Massaging the crown chakra

The crown chakra makes you experience a state of calmness and connects you to the highest level of your consciousness. We associate this energy center with qualities of being blissful, immortal, and infinite. Massage the scalp and pull some hair to heal this chakra.


A chakra massage can help heal your energy fields and clear the pathways where the energy flows. A smooth flow of energy promotes a balance and harmony among all the primary energy centers. Balanced chakras work together and influence one’s physical, psychological, and spiritual well-being.

Related: What Do The 7 Chakras Mean: Everything You Need To Know

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?